Aboriginal Languages to be Protected in NSW Law

There are over 250 different Aboriginal languages in Australia that developed over thousands of years.

However, Australian governments up until the 1970s banned the practise of speaking Aboriginal languages.

Yesterday, the New South Wales government announced that they will be the first parliament in Australia to protect local Aboriginal Languages by using legislation.

The shadow minister for Aboriginal Affairs, David Harris, joined Thursday Daily host Adrian Walton on the phone.


Producer: Jack Begbie

You may also like