New Music on 2SER 18.07.22

Welcome to the new music review where we connect you with some of the best new music spinning on Breakfast, The Daily and Drive programs.


Emma Volard – Deity FEATURE ALBUM 
Arp – New Pleasures
Cameron Deyell & Laurence Pike – Isola
Jodi Phillis – We need to be free
Pill Super – Ghost Reel EP
Tasman Keith – A colour undone
The Pinheads – The Mirror
Working Men’s Club – Fear Fear


Alice Boman – Maybe
Chillcheney – Wait For Me (ft. Quinta)
Elizabeth M Drummond – Congratulations
Henry Wu – Phone call
Laura Jean – Teenager again
The Big Moon – Wide eyes
Pale blue eyes – Star Vehicle
Say She She – Trouble
The Pro-Teens – Doomsday
Younger Than Me – Hallucination


2SER’s Feature album this week is the incredible debut from Melbourne/Naarm artist Emma Volard. Entitled Deity, it features lush electronic jazz instrumentation wonderfully dynamic forays into various styles, while lyrically addressing pain, loss and the human condition. There are god-like levels of musicality across this excellent album and we suggest checking it out if you’re a fan of modern soul, rnb and jazz. Or just tune into 2SER!

Similarly omnipotent is the latest from Cameron Deyell and Laurence Pike having released Isola, their first collaborative long-player outside of Liars. Select tracks off this highly evocative fusion of spiritual jazz and electronic styles  can be heard across the 2SER airwaves right about now.

An artist already well on the rise, the debut Album from Tasman Keith takes a soulful angle to hip hop, that ruminates on love, loss, trauma, and healing through metaphor and lived experience. Complimented by exquisite production by Alex The Astronaut, and recorded in Marrickville over six days, this is a excellent LP with a hosted of collaborators.

Keeping local, the sixth solo album, We need to be free,  from singer, songwriter , Jodie Phillis. The front-woman and guitarist for revered 90s Sydney group The Clouds, Phillis brings a wonderful dose of melodically driven chamber folk, psychedelia and melancholy pop, exploring themes of loss and transcendence.

Diving further into sounds that have a jangly folk direction, the third album from the South Coast six piece The Pinheads represents a subtle stylistic shift for the group, The Mirror is an excellent and  explorative jaunt through mellowed out alt-country, garage and surf rock.

Changing the tempo up a few notches, Fear Fear is the sophomore album from well-loved Yorkshire group Working Mens Club, delivering uptempo new wave sounds that are at turns bright, dancey and angular, yet with an unsettling electro-clash undertone. Rapid fire drums and soaring synth-lines characterise this, and there are obvious comparisons to be had with New Order, Public Image Ltd  among others. However, the unique vocal stylings of frontman Sydney Minsky-Sargeant distinguish this from the typical deadpan delivery often a feature of this sound.

Keeping things purely electronic, New Pleasures is the eighth album from New York solo electronic artist Alexis Georgopoulos as ARP is a vibrant tapestry of synth-work and drum programming and an excellently produced album. Evocative of 80s j- boogie and 90s NYC “dream-house”, it’s marked by a contemporary angle on the aesthetics of the past.

Also playing today and onwards on your 107.3fm airwaves is new music from local hip hop artist Chillcheney (Wait For Me (ft. Quinta), as well as a dream-pop sounds from Younger than Me on Hallucinations. Melbourne’s ProTeens continue their series of funk-laden tributes to MF Doom with Doomsday, and Elizabeth M Drummond has just dropped her latest indie rock slowburner Congratulations

All this and much more on your devoted community radio station. Viva la music.






You may also like